Cheongsam Nails

cnyheader

Happy Chinese New Year to you peeps who celebrate this lovely occasion! This is one of the time where we stuff our tummy with yummy until we can’t move lol! For this occasion, I decided to paint cheongsam (or qipao) on my nails 🙂

7800300_f2601266810153695_1266810153695_r

Cheongsam (literally mean ‘long clothing/dress in Cantonese) is a traditional dress for women in Chinese culture. It used to be loose fitting and has evolved to more tight fitting. They’re usually worn to special occasions such as weddings and Chinese New Year 🙂

cheongsam_1_1

They’re also known for their hand sewn details like the one shown above.  Just look at them! So intricate and gorgeous! *drools*

I think that the neckline is the unique part of a cheongsam. You may see a lot of different styles of cheongsam but you can always recognize the collar which I tried to highlight on my nails.

1

I used:

Sally Hansen Xtreme Hard Cherry Red
Wet N Wild Wild Shine Black Creme
Pure Ice Bite Me!
Seche Clear Base Coat
Seche Vite Top Coat

And these are the steps I took to make these nails happen!

cnytutorial

  1. Make curvy lining as if you’re drawing the curvy parts of a heart. Draw them away from your cuticles
  2. Paint the rest of your nails. Outline the neckline with a black color using a toothpick or a small brush
  3. Draw a curved line to the side
  4. Add the “buttons”
  5. Paint a gold color over the “buttons”

And of course, you don’t have to use red. Cheongsams can come in different colors and patterns as you can see from the examples I posted here 🙂

3I’m pretty happy how these turn out! I think they’re really cute so I’m satisfied 😀 I’m going to try another color and pattern next time. I went with red because this was my first time painting them and wanted to keep it simple. Oh! Just so you know, the color red symbolizes good fortune for us 😉 We (usually adults who are married) also hand out red envelopes that contains money during special occasions and holidays as good lucks, so this holiday is pretty awesome (for kids, not so much for adults lol!)

cheongsamnails

And that’s all for today! Let me know what you think!

Again, Happy Chinese New Year! Wishing each and everyone of you happiness and prosperity in the new year! Until next time!

With love, Kimmi

Leave a Reply

