Sakura Cherry Blossom Nails

headerYou know how sometimes you have that sudden craving for a particular food? That actually happened to me yesterday..except instead of food, I craved for some cherry blossom (aka sakura) nails! 

Cherry blossom has always been one of my favorite flowers. I don’t know if it’s because I’m bias because I am Asian (lol!) and I love Japan, but I do think that they’re very pretty!

3

They bloom once a year usually around March to May. In Japan, this yearly flower-viewing celebration is called hanami, where thousands of people hold feasts under these beautiful blooming trees. This tradition has been going on over a thousand years.

Unfortunately, I’ve never been to a festival before 😦 Everytime there is one, I either had other obligations or not around the area to attend. I did, though, visit Brooklyn Botanical Garden!

BBG BBG4It was absolutely gorgeous! They have other flowers too.

BBG3

BBG2

They have a little pond in the middle of the park and you can see big fat goldfish swimming around. And oh, if you’re allergic to pollen, do not forget to take an antihistamine beforehand. I learned it the hard way… If you’re a student, bring your student ID to get a discount! 🙂

So for these nails, I used

Kleancolor Pastel Pink
Kleancolor Pastel Teal
Wet N Wild Wild Shine Black Creme
Wet N Wild Wild Shine French White Creme
Seche Vite Top Coat
Seche Clear Base Coat

1

I first did gradient of pink and blue on my nails using a make up sponge. Then I painted the branches using a toothpick, and finished off with dotting the flowers with pink and white using a bobby pin.

2Aaaaand my craving is satisfied 😀 Hope you guys enjoyed this post. Let me know what you think and thank you very much for stopping by!

Do you have a favorite flower? 🙂

With love, QL

2 thoughts on “Sakura Cherry Blossom Nails

Leave a Reply

