From Runway to Fingertips

headerI’m no fashion expert myself but I do enjoy looking at pretty clothes! Last week was New York Fashion Week where all these talented designers get the chance to show off their creativity on the runway. There were so many gorgeous outfits but one particular collection by this Israeli designer, Alon Livne, caught my eyes and I just had to put them onto my nails somehow.

5 4 1Source

Above are few of his looks from his collection. You can view the rest of his amazing collection here. Apparently, he had also design one of Beyonce’s costume in her Mrs Carter World Tour.

alon-livne_347x520_36 alon-livne-0_347x520_55

Source

I really love how he played with different materials in his collection while making them look sophisticated at the same time. How the heck did he do that?? They look fresh, futuristic, and elegant. I am so impressed. I think I may have a new favorite designer!

There were so many outfits that I adore but in the end I chose this picture as my inspiration for my nails.

3

3I really like the details and the vibrant colors that Alon Livne put in his collection. So I tried to replicate the look by using similar colors and detail them by adding the curve lines.

Nail polishes used:

Wet N Wild Wild Shine French White Creme
Kleancolor Pastel Teal
Kleancolor Pastel Pink
Pure Ice Bite Me

2

I painted my nails white as the base. Then I created the blue and pink gradient using a makeup sponge. Using gold, I drew the curve lines to create the armorlike details that he has in his collection. Finally, I finished it off by painting white in between the lines. I’ve prepared a brief tutorial below that highlights the steps I took to create this look.

tutorial

I’m really loving how they turned out! I love the colors, I think they’re very bright and cheerful and definitely brings out the Spring spirit in Alon Livne’s Spring 2014 collection.

4

1Let me know what you think! And thank you so much for stopping by!

Love, QL

2 thoughts on “From Runway to Fingertips

Leave a Reply

